Attention

Never has there been a generation surrounded by so many distractions. Advertising, technology, opportunities are rife and explosive, all around us. Yet, never has there been a generation so overly prescribed ADHD medication, numbing us to not take in the whirlwind around us, willing us to not notice.

As a university student, sitting in a lecture room with 300 students around me, all writing on our laptops the notes off the powerpoints, with nothing but our fingers moving for two hours, does not excite me about learning. Education systems are outdated. So we have moved from chalkboards, to white boards, to powerpoints. This is not change, this is not evolution. This is just what helps the teachers teach better, not students learn better. It is lazy and unhelpful. When we exit these rooms, there is a busy world that stimulates every nerve, every sensory receptor. It is no wonder that I do not listen when put in a room expected to copy notes. The world has changed, it’s bigger, brighter, more interesting than ever. The learning process has revolutionised, but when we are told we do not fit into the traditional puzzle, we are medicated. Medicated to be able to sit and listen, and not fidget.

I’m a third year Marketing major, and only last week was I asked to create an advertisement, what I hope I’ll be doing for a career. How can this possibly be? I’ve been taught theory and about other people’s ideas for 3 years. What if the time came and I wasn’t suited to create my own ads and could only emulate and copy those who have already done and succeeded. Marketing is all about novelty, and freshness. My teachers need to allow me the freedom to exercise my ability to find these skills and communicate them. That is teaching, that is value added.

Signed, Hannah 

Leave a Reply

